This iconic, iridescent, white stone church residing in the Jewellery Quarter is the three-century-old St. Paul’s Church. Built in 1779, the church has not only become a place of worship, but a hub for Christians from the local area to meet and unwind from a busy week.
We hear from Dennis, the caretaker of the church who has lovingly protected and maintained St. Paul’s for the past three years. He explains the origins of the church, how Birmingham got its name and how its past has helped moulded the place of worship it is today.
In many pictures the American flag is seen hanging from the pulpit on the balcony.
American reverends played a big part in the restoration of the church after WWII saw the church heavily damaged. The church’s congregation, whose lives had been dramatically affected during the war, were unable to find the funds to help reconstruct the badly damaged building. With the funds not available to the church during that time, the future of the building looked bleak.
The reverend of St. Paul’s, who had been travelling along the east cost America, was astounded as to how similar the churches were there to those back in the UK. In order to return the open and friendly hospitality he had received from the friends he had made along the coast, in particular within New York, he invited numerous pastors back to Birmingham. The American pastors were in equal amazement in viewing St. Pauls. Not only did they admire the exquisite craftsmanship, but agreed with the Birmingham pastor that the two countries shared similar looking churches, and offered to pay to restore the damaged church. Ever since, as a sign of gratitude towards their American friends, a flag has hung proudly within the church.